(Ch. 13) Response Post -Due. Dec. 5

MSDPREF EC001
PREFONTAINE, Jared Leto, 1997, race

Part 1: After reading chapter 13 sections on “Sports films”,Remakes & Sequels” & “Small Screen: Big Screen” address one the following questions.

  1. If you are drawn to sports films – tell me why. Is there a particular sports film that you can use as an example?
  2. When viewing small screen adaptations or sequels or remakes – what is the compelling factor that would cause you to watch one of those films? Why? Offer an example of one of these films.

sad-keanu-movie-theater

Part 2: As we wrap this semester I’d like you to reflect and think back on what we’ve covered together. Address one of the following questions/writing prompts and post this as your final personal movie blog (on your own site) with the titles listed below. Make sure you add three photos and three links to your post to be consistent with your other original blog posts.

 

  1. Blog post title: “Exploring Film Criticism with a New Perspective” – questions to movie_theater_12consider when writing this: How has your perspective on film criticism changed? Do you approach film viewing differently? Are there elements of filmmaking that you are more in tune with now? Do you appreciate things about film now that you didn’t before? Was there one thing or several things that triggered new thoughts for you?
  2. Blog post title: “Film Criticism = Past-Perfect” – Have you found that the issues and topics we covered served as a reminder or reinforcement of what you already knew? If so, touch on a few of those things.

3. Blog post title: “Film Criticism = Critical Thinking in Action” – How can using the elements of film criticism we explored together help you (and others) examine other arts (music, TV, video games, literature, etc.)?

Crowd watching a movie --- Image by © Daniel Koebe/Corbis

14 Comments Add yours

  1. jguberman242 says:

    2) When viewing small screen adaptations or sequels or remakes – what is the compelling factor that would cause you to watch one of those films? Why? Offer an example of one of these films.

    I recently found out that Netflix is turning the Series of Unfortunate Events books into a TV series to be released mid-January. This series has already been turned into a movie (2004), and is soon to come to the small screen as a remake/TV adaptation. I plan on watching the series because the movie didn’t cover the events within the book series in nearly as much depth as it should have (granted, fitting 13 novels into a single movie can’t be easy), and I loved the books as a child. The characters, settings, and conflicts were so unique and intriguing that I’d love to see them covered more in depth on screen! I love cinematic worlds with a lot of depth, which I think is a huge contributing factor for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. noeltmanning says:

      I think a series version would be perfect for that adaptation. Filmmakers had hoped it would happen in the film series as well. Of course it didn’t

      Liked by 1 person

    2. jguberman242 says:

      https://ratedgforguberman.wordpress.com/2016/12/05/critical-thinking-in-action/
      Here’s my post. I managed to keep something at barely above 300 words for once–yay! Usually I’m much wordier.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Mallory Moore says:

    When viewing small screen adaptations or sequels or remakes – what is the compelling factor that would cause you to watch one of those films? Why? Offer an example of one of these films

    I am very skeptical of remakes if the original movie was really good. I personally think of “Ben-Hur” as a classic, for example, and I saw no reason for a remake. I am all for bringing older films to new audiences, but if the original was very well done, I don’t think that it needs to be completely remade. So, the most compelling factor that would make me want to go see a remake is if the new film can offer something substantial that the original couldn’t. I am looking forward to the new, live action version of “Beauty and the Beast,” because I think that the live action can add an element of wonder that we didn’t get in the original. Dancing household items is one thing in animation, but it might be even more fantastic in live action. I’ve also heard that Emma Watson put her own feminist spin on the character by doing things like refusing to wear a corset under her costume. If this really shines through, it will bring something new to the “tale as old as time.” However, a remake could also just be a waste of time. I was not too impressed with the live-action remake of “Cinderella,” for example. I felt that there had been too many Cinderella-story movies made already, and the new one added nothing new to the table.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. noeltmanning says:

    I agree with the Cinderella comment. I am also looking forward to B&B live action.

    Like

  4. kmanning2 says:

    2. When viewing small screen adaptations or sequels or remakes – what is the compelling factor that would cause you to watch one of those films? Why? Offer an example of one of these films.

    If the first movie has provided closure, I will actually be more drawn to the sequel. I think I might differ from most viewers in this way. If I’m not expecting a sequel, I’m actually more likely to want to watch it. I despise when filmmakers set up a film for a sequel. However, I appreciate it when a filmmaker makes a good movie and then decides to make another one because of a large fan base and its support. For me, an example of this would be Princess Diaries 1 and Princess Diaries 2: Royal Engagement, directed by Garry Marshall. I did my film project on Marshall, and to my knowledge, this was the only time he did a sequel. The first movie wrapped up nicely, and he waited some time to do the second, which also wrapped up well. Before his death, there were talks of a Princess Diaries 3, and I would be first in line to see it.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. alicebyrd20 says:

    I am not drawn to sports films in the slightest. I think it’s just because that I can’t relate in the slightest and the subject matter tends to bore me to tears. Even a movie as subtly sports themed as Field of Dreams bored me to death. Actually, I can’t even think of a serious sports film that I’ve watched recently. Space Jam? Half of it is a cartoon. The only movie on the list that I’ve seen is The Blind Side, and that’s because I LOVE Sandra Bullock. But that movie even bored me.

    Something that makes me want to watch sequels or reboots is that I’m watching in hopes that they continue a story I enjoyed, update the magic of a dated series, or add a new adventure to a story. For instance, a recent sequel that I really enjoyed was Finding Dory. But, I do think I liked that one because Finding Nemo was s movie that I grew up watching, so it took me back to my childhood a little bit. Batman is one of those franchises that is constantly being rebooted. My dad is a big fan – he’s watched every single Batman movie ever made multiple times – but he knows which reboots are good and which ones are bad. Reboots are tricky, especially if the original enjoyed popular success. Sometimes it’s really tough to capture that original magic, and adding new technology or popular actors falls flat. Sequels and reboots tend to draw people to theatres because you go into that experience knowing it’s either going to be really good or really bad. There isn’t much of an in between.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. 1. If you are drawn to sports films – tell me why. Is there a particular sports film that you can use as an example?

    Most of the reason that i watch sports films is because i can relate to what they go through. Dealing with a difficult and divided team and then seeing them come together to compete is amazing to watch. The movie i have in mind is Remember the Titans. Their team was so divided that they were literally fighting to the point of drawing blood. While my team was not that bad we did have a bit of trouble. watching teams on screen and real teams conquer adversity is my main reason for watching sports films.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. thoyle1 says:

    If you are drawn to sports films – tell me why. Is there a particular sports film that you can use as an example?

    I am usually drawn to sports movies if they are done well. I especially love the stories of the player that nobody expected to do well that ended up being the hero, or doing a great job. I also enjoy true story sports films. I think that there is something inspirational about these types of stories that make us want to be better and give us hope. One of my favorite sports films is the movie “The Rookie.” This is an example of that unexpected hero who makes it to the big leagues despite all odds being against him.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. 2. When viewing small screen adaptations or sequels or remakes – what is the compelling factor that would cause you to watch one of those films? Why? Offer an example of one of these films.

    The compelling factor that makes me want to watch a sequel is the quality of the first film and the return of that film’s cast and crew. If the film is a powerful film that I really enjoyed watching, I’ll be excited for a sequel to it, and I’ll follow the film in its earliest stages. “The Dark Knight” was a wonderful film that made me eagerly anticipate the sequel “The Dark Knight Rises,” a film I watched on opening night. All the cast and crew returned, so I knew the spirit and quality would still be high. The recent “Star Wars” movies have similarly interested me enough to want to watch their sequels.

    On the other hand, when films that are unsuccessful or poorly received make sequels, I rarely have as much interest, even if the subject matter would typically excite me. “Batman v Superman” is an excellent example of this. I was looking forward to that film’s release (I had enjoyed “Man of Steel” in 2013), but the poor quality of the film has made me much less excited for future films in the series such as “Justice League.”

    Liked by 1 person

  9. There are a couple of aspects that I look for when viewing an adaptation or sequel. For one thing, I like for the same atmosphere of the original piece to appear in the film. Whatever drew me in to the original, be it the characters, the story line, or another element, I like to see those elements continued in the new work. An example of this pattern would be the first sequel to Shrek. Though it has been quite a while since I have seen the third movie and I have never seen the final addition, I believe that the second movie does a good job of maintaining the feel of the first movie. Meanwhile, I like to see the characters developed or challenged in a way that they had not been before in previous stories. At the risk of sounding about 10 years old, I still enjoy the “Lizzie McGuire Movie.” This movie shows the main character in a different situation than she ever has been- navigating a foreign country rather than junior high school. While the majority of this movie’s characters grow tremendously, we also see elements of the way they have been throughout the entire series. Really, the second Shrek movie accomplishes this aspect, as well. Shrek is thrust into a situation that he would not have had to face in the first movie, and learns more about himself and loved ones after overcoming it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

